# Fipresci-India

Indian Chapter of the International Federation of Film Critics Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique Registration No-TVM/TC/7/2021



Web: http://www.fipresci-india.online

## **ANNUAL REPORT 2019**

#### 01. ACADEMIC ACTIVITIES

## A. 1st Seminar on Film Criticism at BIFFES Bangalore:

The 1st International Seminar on Film Criticism was held on 25 Feb 2019 at the 11th Bengaluru International Film Festival (BIFFES, 21-28 Feb 2019) on the Topic: 'Film Criticism and New Media'. The Seminar was participated by Ms. Aruna Vasudev, Mr. Girish Kasaravalli, Mr. Narahari Rao, Mr. N Vidyashankar, Mr. Nachum Mochiach, Mr. Kaj Van Zoolen, Mr. Ashok Rane and Mr. Siraj Syed. The Seminar was chaired by Mr. V K Joseph.

#### B. 2nd Seminar on Film Criticism at IDSFFK Trivandrum:

The 2nd Seminar on Film Criticism was held on 24 June 2019 from 3 PM to 5 PM at the Kairali Theater Complex, Thiruvanthapuram on the Topic: 'Documentaries to Forefront: Role of the Critics' during the 12th International Documentary and Short Film Festival of Kerala (IDSFFK, 21-26 June 2019) hosted by the Kerala State Chalachitra Academy. Ms. Bina Paul, Artistic Director of the Festival inaugurated the Seminar. Mr. Amrit Gangar, Mr. C S Venkiteswaran, Ms. Priya Thuvassery, Ms. Namrata Joshi, Mr. Premendra Mazumder, Mr. GP Ramchandran and Mr. H Shaji participated in the discussion. The Seminar was chaired by Mr. V K Joseph.

#### C. 3rd Seminar on Film Criticism at IFFI Goa:

The 3rd Seminar on Film Criticism was held on 24 Nov 2019 from 4 PM to 5 PM at the Black Box Auditorium, Kala Academy, Panaji, Goa during the 50th International Film Festival of India (IFFI, 20-28 Nov 2019) on the Topic: 'Film Criticism in India: An Introspection'. The Seminar was organized in collaboration with the Directorate of Film Festivals, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Government of India. Mr. Ashok Rane, Mr. Madhu Eravankara, Mr. M K Raghavendra, Mr. N Vidyashankar, Ms. Meenakshi Shedde and Ms. Meena Karnik took part in the discussion moderated by Mr. G P Ramachandran. The Seminar was chaired by Mr. V K Joseph.

### D. 4th Seminar on Film Criticism at IFFK Trivandrum:

The 4th Seminar on Film Criticism was held on 10 Dec 2019 at the 'Open Forum' of FFSI during the 24th International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK, 6-13 Dec 2019) on the Topic: 'Film Criticism in the New Age'. Ms. Etami Borjan, Mr. Nachum Mochiach, Mr. Madhu Eravankara and Ms. Sadia Khalid Reeti took part in the discussion moderated by Mr. Siladitya Sen. The Seminar was chaired by Mr. V K Joseph.

## E. Mentoring Workshop at Calicut University:

A three-days Mentoring Workshop on Film Criticism was organised from 16 to 18 Dec 2019 at the Calicut University in collaboration with the Kerala State Chalachitra Academy and Vaikom Muhammad Basheer Chair of Calicut University. Dr. Etami Borjan, Professor of the Film Studies of Zagreb University inaugurated the Workshop. Mr. V K Joseph, Mr. M K Raghavendra, Mr. Madhu Eravankara, Mr. N Vidyashankar, Mr. G P Ramachandran, Ms. Etami Borjan, Ms. Anu Pappachan, Mr. Prem Chand, Mr. I Sahnmughadas, Mr. P K Rajasekharan and Mr. Premendra Mazumder conducted the sessions attended by 40+ film enthusiasts, students and scholars. Dr. V Anil Kumar, Vice Chancellor of the Malayalam University also in charge of the office of the VC of Calicut University handed over the certificates to the participants in the valedictory session.

#### **02. PUBLICATIONS**

## A. Quarterly Web Magazine 'E-CineIndia':

Following Four Issues of the Quarterly Web Magazine 'E-CineIndia' were published in 2019:

- 01. Jan-Mar issue published on 14 April 2019 with 08 contributions.
- 02. April-June issue published on 29 June 2019 with 16 contributions.
- 03. July-Sept issue published on 30 Sept 2019 with 20 contributions.
- 04. Oct-Dec issue published on 26 Dec 2019 with 14 contributions.

'E-CineIndia' got Registered with the International Standard Serial Number (ISSN) provided by the National Science Library, ISSN National Centre, India with ISSN Regn. No. 2582-2500.

'E-CineIndia' is accessible free of charge at the link: http://www.fipresci-india.online/e-cine-india/

## B. Annual Printed Journal 'CINE-INDIA':

First issue (Nov 2019) of CINE-INDIA, the printed journal of Fipresci-India, was published on 24 Nov 2019 at the 50th International Film Festival of India (IFFI) Goa. This 96 Pgs. publication contains 18 contributions from the members. It is a priced publication with a cover price of 200 INR (5 USD) per copy available on demand (with additional courier charge).

#### 03. ORGANIZATIONAL ACTIVITIES

## A. Second FIPRESCI (International) Jury in India:

After Kerala, the second FIPRESCI (International) Jury was installed in the Bengaluru International Film Festival from its 11th edition held from 21 to 28 Feb 2019. The jury was composed with Mr. Kaj Van Zoelen from The Netherlands, Mr. Nachum Mochiach from Israel and Mr. Siraj Syed from India.

## B. Fipresci-India (National) Jury:

The First Fipresci-India National Jury was installed in the 2nd South Asian Short Film Festival organised by the Federation of Film Societies of India in Kolkata from 18 to 31 March 2019 to confer the 'Chidananda Dasgupta Critics Award' for the Best Short Fiction and the 'P K Nair Critics Award' for the Best Documentary with Cash, Trophy and Citation. This Fipresci-India National Jury was composed with three members: 1. Mr. Siraj Syed, 2. Ms. Meena Karnik and 3. Mr. S Viswanath.

## C. Official Website of Fipresci-India:

The Official Website of Fipresci-India http://www.fipresci-india.online/ was launched on 14 April 2019. The website is updated regularly with all relevant reports and circulars.

## **D.** Meetings:

Executive Committee Meeting (ECM) and Annual General Meeting (AGM) were held at the Conference Hall of Hotel Manoshanti, Panaji, Goa on 24 Nov 2019 at 11 AM and 12 Noon respectively followed by complementary lunch for the members at the same hotel.

#### E. Felicitation:

Mr. Anil Grover, former Secretary of Fipresci-India passed away on 12 Sept 2019. He was felicitated posthumous with a memento and citation. His son received the same.

#### F. Achievements of the Members:

- 01. Mr. S R Ashok Kumar was conferred with the 'Kalaimamani Award' (Highest State Honor for Art & Culture) for excellence in journalism by the Govt. of Tamil Nadu.
- 02. Mr. V K Joseph was conferred with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his Contributions to Cinema by the Jaffna International Cinema Festival Sri Lanka in Sept 2019.
- 03. Mr. Premendra Mazumder was elected as the Secretary Asia Pacific Region of the International Federation of Film Societies in Nov 2019.

#### **04. JURY ASSIGNMENTS**

In 2019 following members were selected by HO for the international jury assignments:

- 1. Ms. Rekha Deshpande (Dhaka 10-18 Jan 2019) Served.
- 2. Mr. Siraj Syed (Bangalore 21-28 Feb 2019) Served.
- 3. Ms. Meena Karnik (Ankara 23-30 May 2019) Served.
- 4. Ms. Rekha Deshpande (Toronto 5-15 Sept 2019) Selected but failed to serve due to accident.
  - 5. Mr. Prem Chand (Busan 3-12 Oct 2019) Served.
  - 6. Mr. Ashok Kumar (Taipei 8-24 Nov 2019) Served.
  - 7. Mr. Siladitya Sen (Kerala 6-13 Dec 2019) Served.

Besides above, Mr. N. Vidyashankar was also selected and served in St. Petersburg Colloquium (11-13 Nov 2019)

Reported By: Premendra Mazumder, Secretary, Fipresci-India

Dated: 31 Dec 2019 (Approved by EC)

Circulated on: 6 January 2020