## FIPRESCI-INDLA

International Federation of Film Critics - India Chapter Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique

Registration No-TVM/TC/7/2021 Website: <a href="https://fipresci-india.org/">https://fipresci-india.org/</a>



## PRESS-RELEASE

Thiruvananthapuram, 2 May 2025

## PROCLAMATION ON SATYAJIT RAY MEMORIAL AWARD 2025

To commemorate Satyajit Ray Birth Centenary (2 May 1921-2021), FIPRESCI-India installed an award titled: 'SATYAJIT RAY MEMORIAL AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTION TO WRITING ON CINEMA' in 2021. The award is announced every year on Satyajit Ray's birthday conferring it to an author to acknowledge her/his outstanding contributions to writing on cinema in any Indian language including English, for propagation of film culture which was Ray's primary area of concern. Ray performed his role as an author very seriously throughout his life by writing on cinema in English and Bengali. Earlier recipients of this award are Smt. Aruna Vasudev (2021), Shri I. Shanmughadas (2022), Shri Ashok Rane (2023), and Smt. Maithili Rao (2024). FIPRESCI-India is honoured to declare the veteran author and film critic **Shri Pradip Biswas** as the recipient of this coveted award for the year 2025 named after the great master.

Shri Pradip Biswas was born in Calcutta (now Kolkata) in 1945. He did his Masters from the University of Calcutta in English, Linguistic, and Journalism in 1965-1967. Immediately after passing out from the University, he started writing in the Junior Statesman and the Cine Advance. Thereafter he started writing for English daily the Hindustan Standard, and Bengali daily the Ananda Bazar Patrika. He also contributed to English daily the Amrita Bazar Patrika since 1975, in English weekly the Screen since 1979, and in English daily *The Telegraph* since 1982 - where he continued writing on cinema till 1995. Since 1995 till date, he has been writing in English dailies the *Indian Express* and the *Financial Express*. He also contributed to the Sunday Mail since 1985, Cinema India International since 1995, Cinema in India since 1996, and Sense and Sensibility since 2004. He also wrote on cinema in the Bengali daily Basumati Patrika from 1986 to 1992. His first book on Indian Cinema was published in 1995 by the Directorate of Film Festivals under the I&B Ministry. Thereafter he has written 35 books in English including Buddhadeb Dasgupta: Cinema of Imprinted Times (1998), Yilmaz Guney: Cineaste Militant (1999), Sandip Ray: Take One (1999), Films of Nabyendu Chatterjee: A Montage (2001), Eternity and Angelopoulos (2003), Mrinal Sen, Suchitra Sen and Aparna Sen: Sense and Sensibility (2004), Films of Nabyendu: Signature of Humanism (2006), Nabyendu's Manik Trilogy (2007), Revisiting Angelopoulos (2008), Cinema of Cristian Mungiu (2008), A Girish Kasaravalli Film: The Shadow of the Dog (2008), Ray on Ray (2008), Naomi Kawase: Woman Director in Progress (2009), Films of Samira Makhmalbaf (2009), Girish & Gulabi Talkies: A Critique (2009), Five Indian Directors (2009), Anjan Bose: Road to Documentaries (2009), Three Women Directors: Interviews (2011), Cinema of Zhang Yimou (2011), Cinema of Abbas Kiarostami (2012), Girish: Riding the Stallion of Dreams (2012), Gita Sen: Ethics of Resilience (2012), Andrey Zvyagintsev (2014), Sabiha Sumar: A Vigilant Outsider (2015), Orion: A Poetry Collection (2018), Deepti Naval: Dreams, Memories, Reflections (2019), Mrinal Sen: Iconoclast of Indian Cinema (2019), Sandip Ray: Take Two (2023), Foreign Directors: Critical Readings (2024), and others. He won the award for best book by the Korean Film Foundation in 2014 for his title *Kim Ki-duk: Times of Scarred* Memories (2014). He was honoured with the National Award in 1989 as the Best Film Critic.

We are proud to confer the SATYAJIT RAY MEMORIAL AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTION TO WRITING ON CINEMA 2025 to SHRI PRADIP BISWAS. The citation will be handed over to him in a program to be organized physically as soon as possible. From this year we also have added a cash component of Rs.10,000/- to this award as a token of respect which will also be transferred to him very soon.

tmasjunder

Premendra Mazumder General Secretary V. K. Joseph
President



Office: Chirakkulam Road, Statue, Thiruvananthapuram-695001, India. E-Mail: <a href="mailto:indiafipresci@gmail.com">indiafipresci@gmail.com</a> Mob/Wap: +91-98301-40517